EKITI DECIDES 2022: INEC Declares Oyebanji of APC Winner As SDP Stuns PDP In Second Place

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Biodun Oyebanji as winner of the 2022 Ekiti governorship election.

INEC Returning Officer, Professor Kayode Adebowale, declared Oyebanji the winner around 3:04 am in the early hours of Sunday.

The 2022 Ekiti governorship election which was held Saturday June 18, was keenly contested between three parties in the state – the APC, the PDP and the Party SDP.

Oyebanji pulled a total vote of 187,057 winning in 15 of the 16 local government in the state.Out of the 360,753 votes cast, the total valid vote in the election was 351,865.

Adebowale said; “Abiodun Abayomi Oyebamiji of the APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected”.

The final result of the election shows that APC scored a total of 187,057 votes as the SDP candidate, Segun Oni stunned the PDP to emerge second in the race with 82,211 votes while PDP’s Bisi Kolawole had 67,457 votes.

The full updates of the votes reads: A: 166, AAC: 409, ADDC: 5,597, APM: 290, ADP: 3,495, APC: 187,057, APGA: 376, NNPP: 529, APP: 1,980, LP: 195, NRM:347, PRP: 856, PDP: 67,457, SDP: 82.211, YPP: 618, ZLP: 282.

See also  National Assembly Members Plan Faceoff With Governors Over Lost Tickets
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments