FG Reopens Land Borders in Four States

The Federal Government of Nigeria has reopened four land borders shutdown in August 2019, as part of efforts to curtail smuggling and boost local production of rice in the country.

The statement was contained in a press release signed by Deputy Comptroller-General E. I. Edorhe, on behalf of the Comptroller-General of Nigeria Customs Service, Hameed Ali.

The reopened land borders include; Kamba border post in Kebbi State, the Idiroko border post in Ogun State, Ikom border post in Cross River State and the Jibiya border post in Katsina State.

In a statement titled, ‘Re-opening of four additional Nigerian border posts’ the service stressed that: “Sequel to the Presidential directive dated December 16, 2020, granting the approval for phased reopening of land borders namely; Mfum, Seme, Illela and Maigatari borders, these four borders have been added to the list.

Consequently, all Customs formations and Joint Border Patrol Teams are to take note and ensure that proper manning takes place in compliance with extant operational guidelines.

In 2019 President Buhari ordered the shutdown of land borders as part of its effort to boost the production of rice in Nigeria.

Recall that, at the time of the shutdown, the comptroller general of Nigerian Customs Service, Hameed Ali, announced that there is no timeline for reopening of the borders, stating that they will remained closed until there is total control over what comes into the


See also  Buhari Congratulates Archbishop Onuoha, CCN’s President-elect
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments