South Africa Wins First WAFCON Title

Two goals from Hildah Magaia within eight minutes after the hour mark handed South Africa their first-ever Women’s Africa Cup of Nations title as they beat hosts nation, Morocco 2-1.

The South Africans finally became champions on Saturday, after being runners-up in 1995, 2000, 2008, 2012 and 2018.

The Banyana Banyana completed the tournament in Morocco with a 100 per cent record, as well as securing qualification to next year’s Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

Magaia tapped in an excellent cutback from Jermaine Seoposenwe, in the 63rd minute to give the champions the lead.

Magaia doubled the lead in the 71st minute with another close finish, this time from a cross out wide from Karabo Dhlamini.

But a lapse in concentration saw Banyana lose possession and offered Morocco hope of a comeback as Rosella Ayane pulled one back in the 80th minute after being set up by Fatima Tagnaout.

The comeback was not to be, as the Banyana Banyana held on to win the elusive trophy.

See also  Edo State: Government To Build 20 Technical Colleges In The State
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments